Book Review – Lessons I Learned in the Dark

Dear Reader,

I hope you are doing well. It’s been a while since I had written a book review. So, since I am not seeing any clients right now, it’s the perfect time to sit and reflect. Lessons I Learned in the Dark by Jennifer Rothschild was a book that I had heard about when I was still working at a dental office. It was on the screen of one of the TVs a patient was watching. I think the channel was TBN—Trinity Broadcasting Network.

Before continuing, I would like to write a “disclaimer”—a word of caution due to desiring to reduce the idea that the book is for everyone:

Please note the audience the author was writing to is to Christians. Therefore, if you are not a Christian or desire to avoid reading Biblical scriptures or Christian beliefs, this books is not for you.

I was interested in this book because the author used the clever way of spinning the word “dark” to relate to her misfortune (or, to some, it may be viewed as a fortune) of physically being in the dark to spiritually being in the dark. So it was left on my wish list at Amazon for almost two decades until my husband bought me this and a couple of other books as a Christmas gift. I like how she is able to share with the reader what she has experienced once she became blind and also what she had spiritually experienced in relation to that physical journey of walking through life without being able to visually see.

One of my favorite chapters is entitled “Follow The Leader.” It’s also a great example of using something physical to demonstrate the spiritual. Jennifer Rothschild and her husband was looking for a way to enjoy recreational activities together. Her husband, Phil, was into sports and, according to Rothschild, lack on involvement had little to do with her blindness (2002).

It has more to do with the fact that if I’m going to engage in something slow and expensive that makes me tired and sweaty, it’s most likely to be shopping. Now that’s healthy!

Yes, she has a great sense of humor (as readers will find out)! One day, Phil came home with the idea of using a bicycle for two. Unfortunately, while Phil was riding with excitement, Jennifer was riding with panic. As a result, she started to bark out commands such as “slow down!” and “I hear an in-line skater; veer left!” (Rothschild, 2002, p. 153). After a while, the bicycle came to a complete stop and Phil said in a very tense and controlled voice “Honey, will you please stop telling me how to steer the bike?” (Rothschild, 2002, p. 153)

The following day, Jennifer was so quiet that her husband ended up asking if she was okay back there. She was. She was actually enjoying the ride due to being able to notice other things: the music of tricycles and palm fronds (Rothschild, 2002). Although she had stated how riding on the back of a bicycle is “always a little unsettling” due to not being in charge, even when one trusts the driver, when the journey includes thorny places that makes one feel helpless or weak (Rothschild, 2002). Then she goes on explaining how the apostle Paul had an affliction that also made him feel this way and how we might be able to chart a course through thorns. Very clever comparisons!

To watch a similar video of what I believed I saw while in the dental office, click on the play button below.

To learn more about Jennifer Rothschild, click here. To get a copy or listen to the audiobook of Lessons I Learned in the Dark, click here.

Reference

Rothschild, J. (2002). Lessons I learned in the dark. Multnomah.

Leave a comment