Book Review – The Meaning of Mariah Carey

Dear Reader,

I hope you are doing well. Yes, I have already written two blog entries during this week. But, as I had previously mentioned, I have two books due at the library next week and so I am here to write about one of the two library books (the blog I wrote much earlier this week was from a book I actually own). But before I get to that, I want to share how it reminded me of my teenage years. Oh! I guess I was actually introduced to Mariah Carey during my childhood years.

I remember a classmate/friend had invited me to her birthday party in which included a sleepover. She had played some of Mariah Carey’s songs—or was it the entire album? Prior to this, I want to say I heard some of her songs but didn’t put the name of the artist until that day. At least, that is what my memory recalls. During the sleepover portion (faintly remember wearing PJs at that time), us girls we singing songs from the “Music Box” album.

I remember getting a copy of “Music Box” from Columbia House—a mail-order music club that I had signed up for during my early teens. From my copy of “Music Box,” I taught myself the sign language to the words of the song “Music Box.” It was such a lull-like song that felt nice to “dance” my hands slowly along while my signing along. I remember most of Mariah’s songs were so touching that I cried while singing along and trying the riffs—it was between this and children’s choir that built up my diaphragm. As the years went by, my voice dropped so me currently trying to hit some notes (in which I couldn’t hit as a child) is impossible even as a falsetto.

Enough with my nostalgia. Here’s Mariah as a memoir. It’s entitled The Meaning of Mariah Carey.

I learned about Carey’s memoir from my husband. He started to play some of the audio version of this book when our family was going on a trip. I think it was during our annual trip to Apple Hill. After hearing some of her story, I knew I wanted to hear the rest. Unfortunately, I only found the physical book at the local library. When I explained to my husband that I would like to listen to the book while reading the book, he told me I could listen to his copy from Audible.

I know I have said this before but I will repeat it, here:  we never know the background of others until they share it. And share it, Mariah Carey did! She stated her struggles from childhood to adulthood and even shared about her relationships: family, friends, and past lovers. It was fun (and a bit sad) to read what she experienced when I was experiencing joy of singing her songs as a teenager. I was able to knit my heart more to her songs when she shared the background that led to some of them.

“Dream Lover” is the first music video I saw of Mariah Carey.

After finding out that she wasn’t able to chorographic this music video, as well as others in the way she wanted to, that was when I felt sad. I enjoyed bouncing around while watching and singing along as a young teenager. So when I found out that she was able to direct “Fantasy” the way she wanted, I was relieved because that was another music video that I also liked to dance about and sing at the same time.

Which reminds me. The other album I remember having of Mariah Carey is entitled “Daydream.” It includes the song “Fantasy” in which when I had recent played it, I remember jumping up and down when the song was played with my cohorts. I think it was at a school dance or maybe a basketball rally. Just hearing the beginning lines caused me to smile with excitement and also cried because of the fond memories. Good times. Carey explains what led up to creating the music video in her memoir.

I remember the song “Hero” used to be played a lot during graduations. After a while, I grew weary of hearing it.

But when I heard it today, I sang along and smiled. The memories all came back and left me lighthearted.

Another favorite from “Music Box” is “Without You” in which I can hit the deeper range with ease, now.

I enjoyed the song “Anytime You Need A Friend” while starting to type up this blog entry. But that isn’t the only time I enjoyed the song. Sing-yelling out the chorus has always been a joy for me.

Having “Daydream” album playing while in my bedroom as a teen did have me daydreaming. Listening to “Underneath The Stars” reminded me how I would just lay on my bed while singing and looking up at the ceiling—as if I was looking at the night sky.

“One Sweet Day” is a song that was played at my middle school dance and I had my first couple dance (and it was a slow dance) with someone that I had a crush on. It was orchestrated by a couple and a classmate from elementary school. I think they kept bugging him until he finally decided to grab and and do a slow dance.

I always loved “Always Be My Baby” so when I heard a male sing it on American Idol, I couldn’t help but smile. Here’s Mariah Carey’s version.

And here is the one I heard from American Idol in which includes Mariah Carey explaining what she thought about his version.

I can write about my experience with Mariah Carey’s songs for a while but before I go, I want to share about the song “Butterfly.” The words are moving and it was interesting to find out what caused her to write this one. I will not write it here because I hope you will find a copy and read it.

To visit the website of Mariah Carey, click here. To get a copy or listen to the audiobook of The Meaning of Mariah Carey, click here. To review the music of Mariah Carey, click here.

Leave a comment