Searching for Community Agency for Course Assignment

Hello readers! šŸ™‚ I had an interesting “interview” with Sharon Cannon, EAP Program Manager who coordinates with 23 programs (including Partnership for Families, Children, and Adults). I had reached her by contacting Partnership for Families, Children, and Adults: a community agency I am hoping to use for a course assignment. Sharon gave me some excellent information regarding what she can do for me in regarding internship and maybe even getting hired to work with teenagers who may be suffering with depression, low self-esteem, anxiety, etc.

All this came to be after I had prayed over my situation. I had contacted two other places in hoping to be able to get my assignment done: interview a counselor at the community agency as well as another interview with a community agency representative. One downfall is that I don’t have a car (nor do I drive) so I would have to get a ride to do the interviews. Another dilemma is that I wasn’t finding a place to do the two interviews.

I had prayed this morning after noticing around the time of 8:30am, I fell into a stupor. I noticed it on Friday and thought I needed a nap. But I fail to lay down for one and kept doing class work. On Monday, I also fell into a stupor around the same time. So I laid down and prayed instead of going to sleep (I prayed over my husband for about an hour and a half). Tuesday, I don’t recall what I did around that time. Today, I took the action to pray over my family, friends, and other situations for twenty minutes.

After I had finished praying, I called the maintenance service for Southern Adventist University (Plant Service) to see about some repairs that were reported by my husband about three weeks ago. Kim, the lady over our area, agreed it has been a while. She explained to me that many of the maintenance have been busy working on the pluming problem Southern Village (?) has been having lately. I understood the situation because a classmate was explaining about it.

After calling Plant Service, I had called one of the community agency places (Apison Behavioral Health Center) I had called on Monday. I left another message. Then I had called Partnership for Families, Children, and Adults. I had received this suggestion from Girls Inc. because, as a community agency I had first called, they didn’t provide counseling services at their facility. I believe it was Monday when I had emailed Partnership for Families, Children, and Adults. Since I didn’t receive a response, I decided to give them a call.

After explaining why I had called, I was transferred over to the director, Carmen Hutson. I had a nice chat with her. She is a LCSW and is willing to be interviewed. The dilemma is that they don’t have counseling services on site anymore because their counseling program director has retired. They are currently looking for someone for this position. However, they send their clients out. This is where Sharon Cannon comes in. She connects the program with counselors.

Sharon Cannon has connected me with one counselor. I hope she will be willing to be interviewed. Sharon will pay her for the hour of interview so that might encourage her to be interviewed! šŸ˜› I also have to see from Dr. Dickinson if this situation is allowed for this assignment (since the community agency doesn’t have counselors on site). It’s for my Counseling in Community Agencies class.

I thought this was a nice story to share so that motivated me to type it all out. šŸ˜‰

Leave a comment